Seleste deLaney is the author of eight published works (with two more coming soon). Her preferred romance and erotic genres include contemporary, paranormal, and Steampunk. She hasn’t always been a full time writer. She started life as a chemistry major at Purdue University, and later was a high school teacher. In addition to her writing, she is busy raising two little goblins of her own. You can find Seleste in various locations online. Please visit her at her website, on Twitter, and on Facebook.

Remy (Remus) is one of the new character in Seleste deLaney’s Blood Kissed series—a very vocal one. He’s here today to talk about something a little different: animals. For those of you new to the Blood Kissed series, you might want to start with the short story prequels, available from Decadent Publishing and many other online retailers. The first novel in the series, Kiss of Death, released yesterday (August 28) from Mundania Press.

And now, take it away, Remy.

I’m going to get a little serious for a moment first. I know, I know, what happened to the Remy we’ve gotten to know and worship on this blog tour? No worries, he’ll return in a moment, but serious stuff first.

Animals have a long history with humankind. Beyond providing food and clothing and companionship, at various stages of history, animals have been worshipped as gods. Let’s take the Egyptians for example. Three of the best known Egyptian gods are Horus (falcon), Anubis (dog), and Bastet (cat). They also had a crocodile god, a scorpion goddess, a cow goddess, and even a hippo god. Ibis, jackal, vulture, beetle, fish, bull, ram, cobra… the list goes on and on. That was a society that truly revered animals.

Now… we keep them as pets and put them in zoos and torture them to perform tricks for our amusement. As a vampire of some renown, I watch this and have a difficult time seeing the difference between your food… and my food. And I don’t mean the worshiping part.

You see, while I do have an appreciation for dogs and cats, I find my fellow “men” (and women) make the best pets. It is amazing the things a human can be trained to do given the right system of rewards and punishments. And the lead up to that time only makes them all the tastier. When I’m settled into a place for a while, I like to keep at least one or two. (Honestly, a pair is always better. It’s fun to watch them play and fight and… other things.) But at the moment, I am sadly pet-free.

Yes, I’ve debated a cat since my busy life wouldn’t upset it nearly as much as it would bother a dog, but my wardrobe these days just couldn’t hold up to the scratching and spraying. It is the 21st century after all. No, a human seems much more agreeable.

Plus, if I had a human, I could also have a dog since the human could care for it in my absence. It seems the perfect solution to my solitary lifestyle. So, while I won’t put you in a zoo for all the world to see (for an admission fee), I will keep you fed and clean and housed. For any who wish to apply, my requirements therefore are as follows:

  • Must love (or at least tolerate) dogs
  • Must have a bit of a submissive streak (I’m willing to show you who’s in charge, but it’s easier for all involved if you don’t make me show you too much)
  • No allergies to cleaning products or latex
  • And a fairly high tolerance for pain would be helpful

If you aren’t fond of the above offer, remember my kind are among you, and you are little more than animals to most of us. Do unto others and all that. We’re watching.

… Oh, and I prefer brunettes. Or redheads. Redheads are nice. Hell, blonds are okay. And bald is beautiful…

*********

Thank you Remy (and Seleste) for coming to PonyTails today! Hopefully we can find a pet that is a perfect fit for you. 😉

About Kiss of Death:

Too many years of killer vamps have triggered the curse of the Blood Kissed. They’ve awakened the bloodline that can alter their world, because her blood has the power to control them all—even make them destroy each other.

Jocelyn thought her troubles with vampires were over when she drove a stake through her boyfriend Max’s heart two years ago. Even though she’s engaged to Chad, she’s never really forgotten him. Now Max is back, and Chad is taking her into the heart of the vamp community—and they’re the ones trying to keep her alive. The ones who love her and each seek to claim her for their own. Because once the elders know who she is, they’re all going to want her …or want her dead.

