From Publisher’s Website

The Man of Her Dreams

He is like a prince in a fairy tale: tall, outrageously handsome, and way too dark for her own good. Amanda has been hurt before, though. And with her daughter’s illness, the last thing she needs right now is a man. But the power of Dai King is hard to resist. And when he threads his hands through her hair and pulls her in for a kiss, there is no denying it feels achingly right.

In a Land of Nightmares

After being trapped in the Shadowlands for centuries with the goblin horde a constant threat, Dai revels in his newfound freedom back in the human realm. But even with the centuries of magic he’s accumulated, he still doesn’t know how to heal Amanda’s daughter—and it breaks his heart. Yet for the woman he loves, he’d risk anything…including a return to the Shadowlands.

My Review:

After the strong reviews Ms. Husk received for the first Shadowlands book, The Goblin King, I was looking forward to this one. I never read the first book, and I don’t know if that contributed to my confusion and overall disappointment in this story. The pacing of the information reveal drove me nuts.

Until about 40 or so pages in to the book, I thought the story was taking place in America. Because of the references to the story’s location not being as cold as Wales, I knew it wasn’t in taking place in the United Kingdom. However, I was surprised to discover the story was taking place in Australia. About 20 pages in to the story, we find out that the hero, Dai, is 1951 years old.

During the story, it is revealed that Dai has taken a vow of celibacy. Because of some of the back story, I assumed it was because of his abuse at the hands of Romans. However, more than halfway through the story we find out that he is actually a virgin. There is no explanation as to why he took a vow of celibacy.

Other than the information pacing, my other major issue with this book was how angst ridden it was. It was mostly a pitty party, woe is me, story about Dai. I get that he had been abused by the Romans, and was cursed to the Shadowlands to live as a Goblin, etc. But grow up! You have lived almost 2000 years. During that time you learn to let these things go and move on, especially someone who understands how interconnected magic and actions are.

I had to force myself to finish this book. I wanted to put it down more than once. I’m not remotely interested in reading the next book to find out what happens to another goblin who was set free from the Shadowlands.

I give Kiss Of The Goblin Prince a 2 Horseshoe rating.

Kiss Of The Goblin Prince is available from Amazon in Print and Kindle editions.

Publication Details:

Author Shona Husk
Title Kiss Of The Goblin Prince
Format Print
Length 330 Pages
Publication Date May 2012
Publisher Sourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN 978-1-4022-6206-7
