From Back Of The Book:

Feisty reporter Corlis McCullough isn’t afraid to push boundaries in the name of journalistic integrity. When passion for the truth lands her in New Orleans in need of a job, an assignment at a TV station pits her against her old college nemesis, King Duvallon.

The sultry streets of the French Quarter, the glamorous Garden District, derelict riverfront cotton warehouses, and gritty back alleys come alive as the reporter’s story inexplicably slips between the nineteenth century and today. A long-forgotten drama of blackmail, swindles, and a love affair that is still changing lives leaves Corlis and King wondering if their burgeoning, unholy attraction will render them pawns in a matrix of mystery and deceit.

My Review:

Midnight On Julia Street is another re-release that Sourcebooks is publishing. This book was originally published in 1999. There is a note from the author at the beginning of the book stating that this book “provides a snapshot of New Orleans before Hurricane Katrina…” She goes on to state “Fortunately, the French Quarter and Garden District locales and building described in this novel miraculously survived the storm.” I have never been to New Orleans, so I would have never known the difference. But I feel that the books is just a relevant today as it was 12 years ago.

This story had two major story lines. The one following our lead character Corlis in 1999 and one following her namesake in the late 1830s. While working on a story about the pending destruction of a historical building, Corlis finds herself transported back to the era of when the building was built and discovers a way to help save it. Corlis also learns of the scandals surrounding the people involved with the building.

I greatly enjoyed this book. I couldn’t put it down. Ms. Ware brought New Orleans to life for me. I could imagine the streets and the people very easily for both the modern and the historical story lines. It makes me want to visit New Orleans even more that I already did. I want to see the locations she has mentioned in person, not just through Google.

Even thought I’m not a big fan of Women’s Literature this book was very enjoyable and the ending was very satisfying. I recommend this book those who enjoy a non traditional mystery suspense novel with a little romance thrown in.

I give Midnight On Julia Street a 5 Horseshoe rating.

Midnight On Julia Street is available from Amazon in Print and Kindle editions. Also from Barnes And Noble in Print and Nook editions.

Publication Details:

Author Ciji Ware
Title Midnight On Julia Street
Format Print
Length 487
Publication Date August 2011
Publisher Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN 978-1-4022-2272-6
