From Back Of The Book:

HE WASN’T LOOKING FOR TROUBLE…

Wil Marshall is only looking for a place to stay after a winter storm knocks out the power at his ranch. The sexy cowboy never imagined he’d get entangled in a murder investigation – or that events will ignite irresistible passion between Wil and the motel’s fiery proprietress…

BUT TROUBLE WAS LOOKING FOR THEM BOTH…

Pearl Richland never expected to find herself in a middle-of-nowhere Texas town as owner of her great-aunt Pearlita’s vintage motel. But in the midst of chaos, this spitfire is about to learn a thing or two about fate and love, the silent majority that always has the final say…

My Review:

Red’s Hot Cowboy is the second book in Carolyn Brown’s Spikes and Spurs series. This series is about women who trade in their heels and city life for boots and small towns.

Over all I enjoyed the story of the fiery redhead, Pearl, running her great-aunt’s motel and figuring out her place in Henrietta, Texas. I fell in lust with Wil in the first book Love Drunk Cowboy. He is the perfect match for Pearl and her high spirited personality.

One thing I enjoy about Carolyn’s stories is the focus on family. Her cowboys go home to visit their parents regularly and take their women with them. The interactions of the siblings and the parents are always enjoyable to read. It makes me a bit homesick and wish I lived closer to my family. For now, I’ll live vicariously through her characters

Once again, Carolyn included a police scene where the hero is mistaken for a criminal. I believe the mistaken identity sub-plot was unnecessary to the story. It left me wondering why was it even included. There are so many better ways of making Wil feel indebted to Pearl. It also disappoints me that Carolyn is showing small town sheriff’s as incompetent morons. A quick look at Wil’s driver’s license would have cleared up the matter very quickly, not requiring an arrest and interrogation at the station.

Like I said earlier, I enjoyed the story and I’m looking forward to another visit to Henrietta, Texas. I hope that we get to see one of Rye’s siblings get their Happy Ever After.

I give Red’s Hot Cowboy a 4 Horseshoe rating.

On Tuesday August 16th, Carolyn will be visiting PonyTails to do an author interview and a Giveaway! Please come back and join us!

Red’s Hot Cowboy is available from Amazon in Print and Kindle editions. Also from Barnes And Noble in Print and Nook editions.

Publication Details:

Author Carolyn Brown
Title Red’s Hot Cowboy
Format Print
Length 357
Publication Date August 2011
Publisher Sourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN 978-1-4022-5361-4

