From Back Of Book:

She’s a self-made girl…

High-powered career woman Austin Lanier suddenly finds herself saddled with an inherited watermelon farm deep in the countryside. She’s determined to see the farm, until drop-dead sexy neighbor cowboy Rye O’Donnell shows up…

He’s as intoxicating as can be…

Rancher Rye O’Donnell thinks he’s going to get a good deal on his dream property – until he meets the fiery new owner. Rye is knocked sideways when he realizes that now only is Granny Lanier’s city-slicker granddaughter a savvy businesswoman, she’s also sexy as hell…

Suddenly Rye is a whole lot less interested in real estate and a whole lot more focused on getting Austin to set aside her stiletto heels…

My Review:

When I received my Advanced Reader Copy of Love Drunk Cowboy from Sourcebooks Casablanca, I was a little nervous about reading it. The only book I had read by Carolyn Brown, prior to this one, was One Lucky Cowboy and I was disappointed in that one.

But I was not disappointed in Love Drunk Cowboy. I could not put it down and was up late in to the night to finish it. It was well written and had fun and interesting characters. The pace of the story and the romance was well done. Carolyn does a wonderful job of bringing to life what it means to run a farm and a ranch, and live in a small town. I loved the interaction between all of the characters. Molly and Greta are a wonderful addition to the story. I also loved Granny’s interference in Rye and Austin’s relationship to make sure they stayed on the “correct” side of the road.

The O’Donnell family is exactly the type of family that I have always dreamed of having. The type that takes care of each other, musical, and steeped in family traditions. I hope Carolyn will write books about the O’Donnell siblings. I would love to know about their Happily Ever Afters.

Time for a teeny tiny spoiler. It doesn’t give anything away for the main story, but it is a section that I need to mention. So you have been warned. There is a scene in the book where Rye and Austin are driving from Mesquite, Texas back to Terral, Oklahoma in the middle of the night because of an emergency back in Terral. On the way they get pulled over and accused of being a drug running couple. The whole scene was unnecessary to the story and did not move the story forward. It was only slightly entertaining. It would have been better if it had been one of those charity jail games that some small towns do. In those, family or friends will pay to have their friends or family put in “jail” for some made up crime. That is what I thought it was at first, but it wasn’t.

Except for that one scene, I enjoyed Love Drunk Cowboy. Carolyn Brown knows how to bring small towns and their infamous gossip chains to life in her book.

If someone could take Rye and Joanne Kennedy’s Nate and combine the men, that would be the perfect cowboy for me. Yum!

I give Love Drunk Cowboy a 4 Horseshoe rating!!

Love Drunk Cowboy is available from Amazon in Print and Kindle editions and from Barnes and Noble in Print and Nook Editions.

Publication Details:

Author Carolyn Brown
Title Love Drunk Cowboy
Format Print
Length 395 Pages
Publication Date May 1, 2011
Publisher Sourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN 978-1-4022-5358-4
