From The Back Of The Book:

She thought she had it all…

A modeling contract with Wrangler got this Miss Rodeo America a first-class ticket out of town, but somewhere along the way Jodi Brand lost her soul. When she gets back to her hometown, her childhood friend Teague Treadwell’s rugged cowboy charm hits her like a ton of bricks…

He believed he wasn’t good enough…

Teague is convinced Jodi’s success lifted her out of his reach. Now he’s got to shed his bad boy miage to be worthy of the girl next door…

But whoever heard of a beauty queen settling for a down and dirty cowboy…

My Review:

Once again, Joanne has delivered a wonderful, heart warming cowboy romance. Her writing keeps getting stronger with each book she writes. She does an amazing job of giving her readers strong, approachable, memorable characters. They are people that one would love to meet and become friends with. If she keeps this up, she will soon be giving Linda Lael Miller a run for her money.

Joanne’s descriptions of Wyoming make me homesick for the west. I miss the open plains with the blowing tumbleweeds. But I don’t miss the gossip chain and gossip mongers like Darla Black. I loved Joanne’s description of Darla: “It was like having Gypsy Rose Lee, Hello Dolly, and Auntie Mame all rolled into one convenient pharmacist.” I nearly died laughing at that, mostly because it reminded me of one of the older ladies in my hometown.

I love the rekindled friendship and attempt at a relationship vibe this book had. I’m a sucker for those stores (probably why my WIP is about a similar topic). I love seeing people who are best friends and very compatible discover that they do love each other and are compatible in a sexual sense as well. And boy are Jodi and Teague compatible!!!

I literally squealed with delight when Nate from One Fine Cowboy made an appearance in this book. I also was excited that Lackaduck, the town from Cowboy Trouble was also mentioned. I’m hoping that in future books Joanne will give us a glimpse of what is happening with Nate and Charlie and Luke and Libby.

However, my favorite part of this story was how Joanne showed that everyone with disabilities deserve a chance. Troy, Teague’s older brother, has Down syndrome but he wants some independence. He is tired of being so reliant on his brother. Jodi helped with that by giving Troy a job helping with her Therapy Clinic. Through the Therapy Clinic, Jodi also helped many other children discover a freedom they do not have in their normal lives. It may have been something as simple as time out of a wheelchair or a break from the overwhelming stimulus of life. I am very envious of Jodi’s ability to make the life a child, as well as an older retired horse’s life, better.

Joanne’s next book will be Tall Dark and Cowboy and is scheduled for release in November 2011.

I give Cowboy Fever a 5 Horseshoe rating!!!

Remember when you purchase your copy of Cowboy Fever through Barnes and Noble’s website, please use the code 10442713 at checkout. A portion of the sales of the book sold between today (April 2nd) and April 6th will go to the Cheyenne Therapeutic Equestrian Center!

Publication Details:

Author 

Joanne Kennedy
Title 

Cowboy Fever
Number of Pages 393
Publication Date April 1, 2011
Publisher Sourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN 978-1-402-25141-2
