From Author’s Website:

When single attorney Steven Creed becomes the guardian of an orphaned five-year-old boy, he trades his big-city law firm for a ranch near his McKettrick kin in the close-knit community of Stone Creek, Arizona. Taking care of little Matt and fixing up his run-down ranch house with its old barn loosens something tightly wound inside him. But when Steven takes on the pro bono defense of a local teen, he meets his match in the opposing counsel—beautiful, by-the-book county prosecutor Melissa O’Ballivan.

It’ll take one grieving little boy, a sweet adopted dog and a woman who never expected to win any man’s heart to make this Creed in Stone Creek know he’s truly found home.

My Review:

I was asked by Linda Lael Miller’s publicist if I was interested in reading and review this book. When I got the email, I was excited. I have enjoyed Linda’s books greatly over the years. Her Creeds and McKettricks are men I want to take home and keep for myself. They are hard working men who live by the old west code of caring for their families, their animals, and their community. It is very admirable in this day and age, when so many people only think about themselves.

I enjoyed this story about Steven and Melissa. Two people who had been dealt by multiple tragedies in their lives but still rise above it and move on. That kind of character building is very common in Linda’s books. I love seeing people who have been beaten down by life, actually decide not to let it ruin their life and be stronger because of it. I thoroughly fell in love with Steven’s adopted son Matt. I just wanted to bundle him up and hold him tight. I hope we will see more of him in the next two books in the triology.

At one point in the story, Melissa’s best friend, Tom, tricks her in to taking over the town’s Fourth Of July Parade Committee. The antics of the committee members made me laugh. Every small town has women like Adelaide and Bea. I love how Linda brings the little things that make small towns what they are in to her stories.

I am looking forward to the next book in the series Creed’s Honor which is scheduled to be released in June 2011.

I give A Creed In Stone Creek a 4 Horseshoe rating!!!

With the release of Linda Lael Miller’s new Creed Triology, Harlequin has also launched a new website called Take A Cowboy Home. Go look at my blog Tales From The PonyTails Farm for a feature I did on the new site..

In her Dear Reader letter, Linda talks about a program that is near and dear to her heart. It is a program conducted by the Humane Society of the United States called Pets For Life. The Pets For Life program was created to help fur parents and their charges to stay together for a life time. This program promotes the importance of spaying and neutering, keeping a collar with identification on your pet, including a cat, and also education for fur parents who have pets with less then stellar behavior. Please help us support this wonderful campaign and do what you can to keep your fur baby in your household for a life time.

Publication Details:

Author 

Linda Lael Miller
Title 

A Creed In Stone Creek
Number of Pages 384
Publication Date March 2011
Publisher Harlequin
ISBN 978-0-373-77555-2
