From Author’s Website:

The Edge lies between worlds, on the border between the Broken, where people shop at Walmart and magic is a fairytale–and the Weird, where blueblood aristocrats rule, changelings roam, and the strength of your magic can change your destiny…

Cerise Mar and her unruly clan are cash poor but land rich, claiming a large swathe of the Mire, the Edge swamplands between the state of Louisiana and the Weird. When her parents vanish, her clan’s long-time rivals are suspect number one.

But all is not as it seems. Two nations of the Weird are waging a cold war fought by feint and espionage, and their conflict is about to spill over into the Edge—and Cerise’s life . William, a changeling soldier who left behind the politics of the Weird, has been forced back into service to track down a rival nation’s spymaster.

When William’s and Cerise’s missions lead them to cross paths, sparks fly—but they’ll have to work together if they want to succeed…and survive.

My Review:

Once again, Ilona and Gordon have delivered a wonderfully crafted novel. Bayou Moon is the second of Ilona and Gordon’s Edge Series but a reader does not have to read the previous book in order to understand what is going on in this book. I think out of the two Edge series novels, this one is my favorite. I am so glad that William got his Happily Ever After. Maybe it’s because I’m such an animal lover myself, but I always end up rooting for the changeling.

Ilona and Gordon bring the worlds of the Edge and the Mire to life in a way that few authors are able to. I could easily picture myself in those areas and sometimes could have sworn that I smelled the unique scents of the swamp. I kept finding myself talking to the characters, especially William. In my mind, that is a sign of a very good book. When you get so caught up in the story and the characters, that you are emotional vested and are offering your own advice.

With each and everyone one of Ilona and Gordon’s books, I am in awe of their story telling skills and they improve with each book. I am eagerly waiting to see what happens next in the Edge, but I also hope that we will still get glimpses of William and Cerise.

I give Bayou Moon a rating of 5 Horseshoes!!

Publication Details:

Author Ilona Andrews
Title Bayou Moon
Format eBook
Publication Date September 2010
Publisher Penguin Group
ISBN 978-0-4410-1945-8
