From Author’s Website:

Rose Drayton lives on the Edge, between the world of the Broken (where people drive cars, shop at Wal-Mart, and magic is a fairy tale) and the Weird (where blueblood aristocrats rule, changelings roam, and the strength of your magic can change your destiny). Only Edgers like Rose can easily travel from one world to the next, but they never truly belong in either.

Rose thought if she practiced her magic, she could build a better life for herself. But things didn’t turn out how she planned, and now she works a minimum wage, off the books job in the Broken just to survive. Then Declan Camarine, a blueblood noble straight out of the deepest part of the Weird, comes into her life, determined to have her (and her power).

But when a terrible danger invades the Edge from the Weird, a flood of creatures hungry for magic, Declan and Rose must work together to destroy them—or they’ll devour the Edge and everyone in it.

My Review:

I fell in love with the writing of the husband and wife duo who makes up Ilona Andrews, while reading their Kate Daniels series. They do not disappoint with this book. On The Edge is the first of a new series about an in between dimension. One that lies between our world and a world full of magic. I had high expectations going in to this book because of how much I love the Kate Daniels series.

I knew that this book was going to be good when it starts with Rose shooting her grandfather with a crossbow. It doesn’t kill him, just knocks him out for a bit. Then she proceeds to hose the man down because he is covered in mud and dog brains. Maybe I’m sick in the head or weird, but that whole scene had me laughing.

The characters are very well developed and their growth is enjoyable to watch. I love the boys, George and Jack. Their unique talents make life interesting for Rose. Jack is a changeling and George is a necromancer. With the help of Declan, the boys discover the joys and responsibilities of being magical beings. And Rose discovers that there are people out there who want her because of who she is, not what she can do magically.

With every aspect of this story the authors has done a wonderful job. It makes me want to go find the Edge and see if I’m able to cross in to it. I would also go searching for my own Declan.

I am looking forward to reading the next book, Bayou Moon.

I give On The Edge a 5 Horseshoe rating!!!

Publication Details:

Author 

Ilona Andrews
Title 

On The Edge
Format eBook
Publication Date September 29, 2009
Publisher Ace
ISBN 978-0-4410-1780-5
