From Author’s Website:

Sold into slavery to pirates at the young age of four, Summer learns to survive the rough seas of subterfuge and thieves through silence. When the boat she’s lived on most of her life is destroyed, Summer finds herself washed up on the shore of a new world, a phantom universe full of the bizarre and extraordinary. She meets Gage, the one boy who understands the girl with no speech.

But when their lives are put on the line, will Summer finally call out?

Or will all be lost in the fathomless depth of silence?

My Review:

Laura was kind enough to give me an extreme Advanced Reader’s Copy of Phantom Universe. It is an uncorrected e-proof. There are typos and some flow issues, but that said, it was an awesome read! I can only hope that not too much will change between this version and the published version.

I know I have said it before, but Laura has a wonderful talent for weaving stories and manipulating words! Her settings and characters are always so real and compelling. A reader can’t help but be sucked in to the story. Phantom Universe is no exception, even in this raw format.

I found myself emotionally wrapped up in the characters, especially Summer. I even cried at the end of the book. Summer’s story is so compelling. I just wanted to hold her tight and keep her safe. I wanted to beat the crap out of the people who hurt her. Gage and Landon are just wonderful young men. If I was to go the Cougar route, it would be for Gage or Landon.

I will warn you, that even though this is a book geared for Young Adults, it does deal with some possibly disturbing issues. Slavery is not a pretty thing. Laura does a good job of not being too graphic when describing the horrors (including an almost rape) that Summer endures. I would recommend that for anyone under 16 reading this, that a parent reads it at the same time so they can knowledgeably address any questions the young reader might have.

I give Phantom Universe a 5 Horseshoe rating!!

The current expected publication date for Phantom Universe February 15, 2011. The book is currently available for pre-order on Laura’s website. I plan on getting a sign print edition when it comes out!

Publication Details:

Author

Laura Kreitzer
Title

Phantom Universe
Number of Pages 280
Publication Date February 15, 2011
Publisher Obsidian Mountain Publishing
ISBN 978-0-98290-334-6
